Skip to main content

SOCY U302 - Sociological Research Methods - Dr. Zack: Article Indexes and Databases

Fall 2017

Finding Full Text

Interlibrary Loan

If you determine that USC Upstate does not have the journal issue containing the article you want to read in electronic full-text or in print, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan. Follow this link, register, and log on to the system. Allow two weeks for delivery at the circulation desk. You will either receive the article as a PDF scan or a photocopy will be held for you at the circulation desk. You will be notified by email when an article arrives, but you may track the status of your order in the My Account feature of the Library Catalog.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides access to scholarly articles and books. You will not often find freely available full-text, but Scholar can be a useful tool to supplement searches in other resources. Be sure to check Full-Text Finder to see if an article you want to read is available in a database or print journal at USC Upstate. Use Interlibrary Loan to order articles not available at USC Upstate. You can optimize Scholar to find full-text in USC Upstate Library resources by following these steps:

  1. Go to scholar.google.com
  2. Click "settings" on the upper right
  3. Click "Library Links" on the left toolbar, and type: University of South Carolina Upstate. Select and save.

Sociology and Related Fields

Publisher Databases

These databases have journals published or distributed by a single publisher. While you will often find citations to their journals in one of the databases listed above, it is worth keeping in mind that they each have some major sociology and social science journals.