Skip to main content

SOCY U302 - Sociological Research Methods: Databases & Journal Articles

What most people think of as library databases are the over 300 databases the library subscribes to, and pays for, that search for scholarly information from journals.  These databases are like search engines that allow you to search using key words.  Unlike search engines that search everything on the internet, the information library databases search consists of published journals, magazines, reports, documents, newspapers, image collections, and more.

Databases

Generally, when you are looking for scholarly articles, you are looking for research articles, that is, articles that report original research.  Depending on the discipline and methodology, research articles may vary a little in format but all will present a research question or hypothesis, a literature review, results of a study or analysis, and conclusions about the original research question or hypothesis.  These parts may be identified as subheadings in the article, depending on the journal.

Journals

These are all peer-reviewed journals and recognized as important journals in Sociology and related disciplines. Links to full-text below are intended to lead to the most comprehensive representation for each journal and are not necessarily the only full-text available in USC Upstate Library resources. Always use Full Text Finder to look for specific articles.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------