Skip to main content

Creating Persistent Links: Identifying Persistent Links

Finding the Information You Need to Create a Link

  • Our databases come from many different companies, and as a result aren't all set up in the same way. The location for the base URL to use to create a persistent link in one database may be completely different from the location in another. Some databases will refer to a these base URLs as a "permalink," "stable URL," "persistent e-mail jumpstart" or other similar name. Some databases don't refer to them by name at all.
     
  • Some databases automatically provide the complete persistent link (including proxy URL). EBSCO databases like Academic Search Complete do this, and call the link a "Permalink."
     
  • Some databases, such as Academic OneFile, will list the base URL at the bottom of the page. This link may be copied and pasted (but check to make sure the proxy URL appears).
     
  • JSTOR lists the "stable URL" directly in an article, under the publication information. This link may be copied and pasted, but be sure to add the proxy URL.
  • In SAGE Journals Online and Wiley Online Library, use the link in the URL bar at the top of the page, making sure the proxy URL is added. Science Direct works best when the article title is clicked and the link in the URL bar is used. Again, be sure to add the proxy URL.

  • Some databases (usually medical or scientific) also offer DOI (digital object identifier) numbers. These may be tried, but we have found they don't always seem to link properly when joined with the proxy URL.

  • If you're having trouble, please feel free to ask a librarian for more information.

     

Subject Guide

Kevin Shehan <br> Coord. of Electronic Resources & Technical Svcs's picture
Kevin Shehan
Coord. of Electronic Resources & Technical Svcs
Contact:
864-503-5632
kshehan@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 111B


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620