Statement of Purpose: For a majority of its existence, the University of South Carolina Upstate (formerly the University of South Carolina Spartanburg, and the Spartanburg Regional Campus) has not had an official University Archives, nor a dedicated full-time archivist to manage and develop collections. Over the years efforts have been made by the library to collect vital institutional records such as official minutes, committee reports, and accreditation materials, as well as invaluable institutional history such as yearbooks, photos, maps, and other ephemera related to events, groups, and organizations on campus.
As of March 2014, a full-time archivist was hired to organize the current collection, take steps to enhance and further develop archival holdings, and create a useable, inviting space for students and researchers both within and outside of the university community. The physical expansion and reorganization of the archives space was completed in January 2015, and additional tools such as ArchivesSpace (an open-source archival management software program) and a large-format book scanner have been purchased and implemented to better organize and provide access to collections. Although there is still much work to be done with regards to processing the existing collections, the University Archives as a whole are significantly more accessible and useable than they were two years ago.
The next phase of development for the University Archives focuses on the consolidation of existing institutional history that is currently held by various departments and groups across campus. Until now, these collections have likely been stored locally because there wasn’t a central Archives to transfer them into. This significantly curtails the ability of the campus community not only to access historical information, but to understand it within the larger context of the institution as a whole. By consolidating these dispersed collections the institutional memory, history, and identity of the University of South Carolina Upstate can finally be accessed in a single location, and can be used in a variety of displays and presentations to further support the mission of the University.
Please see the PDF document below to view the complete project proposal.