Skip to main content

Pre-Physical Therapy: General Reference Sources

This guide is for students that want to become a physical therapist.

General Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia. REF RC81 .A2 A497 2003.

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior. REF R726.5 .E53 2004. Volumes 1-2 available.

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion. REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference.

Encyclopedia of the Human Body. REF QM7 .E53 2002.

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. REF R733 .G34 2009. Volumes 1-4 available.

Dictionaries

The American Heritage Stedman’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .A53 2002.

Black’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .B598 41st ed. 2006.

The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine. REF R121 .O884 2001. eBook 2001.

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations. REF R123 .J24 2001.

Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. 2007 edition available at the University Center at Greenville Reference. The 2003 edition available at USC Upstate. REF R121 .D73.

Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health. REF R121 .M65 2003.

Melloni’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference. REF R121 .D76 2002.

Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions. REF R 121 .M89 2009.

Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate (2009) and University Center at Greenville Reference (2005). REF R121 .T18

Taber’s Electronic Medical Dictionary. Available in CD-ROM at the University Center at Greenville Reference. REF R 121 .T18 2005 CD-ROM.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Specialized Reference Sources

Career Resources

The Yale guide to careers in medicine & the health professions : pathways to medicine in the twenty-first century - REF R690 .Y35 2003.

Careers in health care - 2005 - eBook.

Health Statistics

Health Care State Rankings:  Health Care in the United States, 13th ed. – REF RA 407.3 .H423 2008.  

Health , United States – REF RA 407.3 .U57a 2005. 

Statistical Record of Health and Medicine – REF RA 407.3 .S78 1995.  Useful for historical statistics.

Specialized Reference Sources

The Brain and Nerves of the Human Body: A Programmed Text for Physical Therapy Aides- QM451 .K7

Current Topics in Musculoskeletal Medicine: A Case Study Approach- RD97 .C87 2001

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion – REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003

Evidence Based Practice Manual:  Research and Outcome Measures in Health and Human Services – R 728 .E94 2004

Facilitated Stretching- RA781.63 .M33 1993

Handbook of Pediatric Physical Therapy- RJ53 .P5 L66 2002

Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues in Health & Society, 6th ed – REF RA 776.9 .T35 2004.  

Therapeutic Exercise in Developmental Disabilities-  eBook

Wound Care: A Collaborative Practice Manual for Physical Therapists and Nurses- RD93 .W683 2001

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Articles

Databases

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Career Resources

Professional Associations

American Physical Therapy Association- The principal organization representing and promoting the profession of physical therapy.

World Confederation for Physical Therapy - The sole international organization representing physical therapists worldwide.

GRE Resources

GRE. REF LB 2367.4 .D85 2007.

Nova's GRE prep course. eBook- 2004.

Physical Therapy Schools

The APTA has a list of accredited Physical Therapy programs by state.

USC Columbia has a Physical Therapy program.

Career Information

Occupational Outlook Handbook: Physical Therapists - Prospects for careers in physical therapy. It includes information on training, working conditions, earnings and more.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Websites

Images

Atlas of the Human Body - AMA Health Insight- Text and images of organ systems along with some of the abnormalities encountered in a disease process.

Diagnostic Imaging for the Physical Therapist  - XRays and Pathology images are provided for different areas of the body.

Master Muscle List  - A quick reference guide that lists muscles both alphabetically and by anatomical region. Select a muscle for an illustration and description of its function. (Loyola University Medical Education Network)

Muscle Atlas from the University of Washington  - Click on the names of muscles in the table of contents to see a drawing of muscles on a skeleton with descriptions.

Musculoskeletal Atlas from the University of Washington  - Musculoskeletal Atlas contains more than 80 anatomical images of upper and lower extremities. The images may be licensed for many uses. Some requests for licenses have been for: instructional digital and print resources; content for websites; illustrations in publications; handouts for training sessions; and examples connected to consumer and professional products or services.

Tutorials and Study Aids

Crimando's Skeleton Tutorials - Point-and-click, self-guided tutorial that allows practice in identifying structures of the skeletal system. Organized by sections of the body.

Get Body Smart- Click on the appropriate system on the right-hand side to get started. This website offers tutorials and quizzes, and each page of the tutorial can be printed out as a study aid. This site it a work in progress; some areas are more complete than others.

Human Anatomy Online - Skeletal System and Muscular System- Click on the appropriate system shown. An easy-to-use, point-and-click study aid that allows you to select bones and muscles from anatomical illustrations and view more information on their structure and movement.

Hypermuscle: Muscles in Action from the University of Michigan  - This is a multimedia interactive HTML document which will help students learn the muscle actions of the human body. Each muscle action is listed in the Table of Contents. You can read about each movement or you may go directly to a movement for a description. Videos can be played to show the action of the muscle.

Superficial Muscles Tutorial  - Another point-and-click study aid from James Crimando, PhD and Chair of the Math & Science Division at Gateway Community College in Maricopa County, AZ. Reviews names and locations of major superficial muscles. Self-tests included in each section.

WebAnatomy- A collection of study aids for entry-level anatomy and physiology topics.

Winking Skull  - This resource from Thieme Publishers is designed to let you study and test yourself on human anatomy.

Ask

Find out about the Renovations

Renovations in the Library are ever changing and rather fluid.  We will attempt to keep you updated on the upcoming changes as we learn about them.  Please follow us on the Library Renovations LibGuide and Social Media to learn more about the changes.

Library Renovations Header as button to libguide

Today's Hours & Calendar

Ask a Librarian - Chat

Librarians are available to help suggest sources and guide you through finding materials.  The ability to chat and text with librarians throughout the semester is available 24/7.  Please type your questions below and a Librarian will be with you shortly.   

Ask a Librarian - Texting

Text your question to a librarian.

864.507.4718

Available 24/7 when Chat is Available

Ask a Librarian - Phone

Phone your question to a librarian.

864.503.5638

Check Today's Reference Hours

Ask a Librarian - In Person

Ask your question in person at the reference desk

Check Today's Reference Hours

Return to Library

Library Home / Resouces Button