Skip to main content

Pre-Law: General Reference Sources

This guide is for students interested in attending law school.

General Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law- eBook 

Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System: Studies of the Principal Institutions and Processes of Law – REF KF154 .E53 1987- There are 3 volumes available.

The Guide to American Law: Everyone's Legal Encyclopedia. – REF KF156 .G77 1983- There are 12 volumes available.

Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia- REF K48 .L44 2002 There are 4 volumes available.

West’s Encyclopedia of American Law- REF KF 154 .W47 2005- There are 13 volumes available.

Women in Law: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook- REF  K170 .W66 1996

Dictionaries

Bioethics, Health Care, and the Law: A Dictionary- REF R725.5 .H44 1999

Black’s Law Dictionary- REF KF 156 .B53 2004- Available at both USC Upstate and UCG.

Law Dictionary for Nonlawyers- REF KF156 .O7 1991.

Oran’s Dictionary of the Law- eBook 

Real Life Dictionary of the Law: Taking the Mystery Out of Legal Language- REF KF156 .H55 1995

Webster’s New World Law Dictionary- REF KF 156 .W54 2006

Guides

American Justice- REF KF154 .A44 1996- There are 3 volumes available.

The Guide to American Law Supplement: Everyone’s Legal Encyclopedia- REF KF156 .G77 Suppl.- There are 6 volumes available.

The Guide to American Law Yearbook: Everyone’s Legal Encyclopedia- REF KF156 .G77 Yrbk 1987.

Magill’s Legal Guide- REF KF385 .M35 2000- There are 3 volumes available.

Major Acts of Congress- REF KF 154 .M35 2004- There are 3 volumes available.

The Oxford Companion to American Law- REF KF156 .094 2002 and eBook

U.S. Laws, Acts, and Treaties- REF KF385 .A4 U152 2003- There are 3 volumes available.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Specialized Sources

Career Resources

Career as a Business Lawyer Largest Legal Specialty: Advise and Represent Corporations and Government Agencies as They Navigate Today’s Complex Changing Legal System- eBook

Career as a Criminal Lawyer Your Career Can Include Private Practice (Solo or a Large Firm), Public Prosecutor, or Public Defender- eBook

Careers for Legal Eagles & Other Law and Order Types- eBook

Law School 101 Survival Techniques from Pre-Law to Being an Attorney- eBook

The Path to Partnership: A Guide for Junior Associates- eBook http://www.netlibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=125537

Legal Theory and Philosophy

American Law in a Global Context: The Basics- KF380 .F59 2005 and eBook 

An Introduction to the Philosophy of Law- K230 .P672 I58 1999

An Introduction to the United States Legal System: Cases and Comments- KF 385 .A4 B42 2006

The Concept of Law- K237 .H39 1990

Frontiers of Legal Theory- K230 .P665 A34 2001.

The Great Legal Philosophers: Selected Readings in Jurisprudence- K226 .M67 1971

The Growth of the Law- K 1 .C37 G76

Law and Nature- eBook 

The Oxford Handbook of Jurisprudence and Philosophy of Law- K230 .O95 A36 2004

Law as a Means to an End: Threat to the Rule of Law- KF 382 .T36 2006

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Articles

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Career Resources

Professional Association

American Bar Association  - Professional association for attorneys and other legal professionals. Provides law school accreditation, continuing legal education, programs to assist lawyers and judges, and initiatives to improve the legal system for the public.

South Carolina Bar Association- Professional association for attorneys and other legal professionals in South Carolina.

LSAT Books

10 Actual, Official LSAT Preptests- KF 285 .Z9 T46 2000

Barron's How to Prepare for the LSAT: Law School Admission Test- REF KF 285 .Z9 B3 11th ed.

Cracking the LSAT- REF KF285 .Z9 C73 2007

McGraw-Hill’s Conquering LSAT Logic Games- eBook 

McGraw-Hill’s LSAT- eBook 

Nova’s Master the LSAT- eBook

Law Schools

2010 Guide to ABA-approved Law Schools- Contains information on all ABA-approved lawschools, including programs, cost to apply, tuition, LSAT scores, etc.

Justia: US Law Schools- Links to every law school in the country. Each school's page provides links to the school's admission page and their law journal site.

Law School - The Princeton Review- Provides rankings, articles that describe how to apply to a school, how to excel, and more.

Pre-Law Resources- Collection of links to help you find the best information about applying to law schools. They include sample admission essays, law school rankings, and other information.

US News & World Report's Law School Rankings- Ranks law schools throughout the US.

LSAT Websites

Free Sample LSAT Test- This site lets you print the test and a bubble sheet to mark your answers. It gives the answer key on a separate page.

LSAT Test Practice Questions- Practice questions on all sections of the LSAT.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Websites

General Information Resources

Internet Legal Research Group - PreLaw- This web page is part of a larger site providing information about legal resources. You can find links for LSAT preparation and application services.

JURIST: Legal News and Research- Provides continually updated legal news.

Law.com- This website contains legal news and articles about legal technology. It also has a career center.

Law Library of Congress- Has links to relevant websites and tips for conducting law research.

Law School Admission Council- This website contains information about entering law school. You will find information on the LSAT and financial aid.

Legal Information Institute- Provides full-text copies of laws and supreme court decisions. Two online libraries provide more information about ethics and social security.

NonTradLaw: The Intelligent Law Student Community- This website is aimed at non-traditional law students.

Paralegal Guide: Finding Your Niche- This website provides information about entering the paralegal profession and opportunities.

PreLaw Handbook: A Guide to Law School- This website has chapters about pre-law issues, including law school rankings and LSAT preparation. It's a good overview that isn't weighted toward specific schools.

PLoL: the Public Library of Law- PLoL is the largest free law library in the world.

Thomas- Provides the full text of Congressional bills and resolutions.

Wex- Free legal dictionary and encyclopedia.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Ask

Find out about the Renovations

Renovations in the Library are ever changing and rather fluid.  We will attempt to keep you updated on the upcoming changes as we learn about them.  Please follow us on the Library Renovations LibGuide and Social Media to learn more about the changes.

Library Renovations Header as button to libguide

Today's Hours & Calendar

Ask a Librarian - Chat

Librarians are available to help suggest sources and guide you through finding materials.  The ability to chat and text with librarians throughout the semester is available 24/7.  Please type your questions below and a Librarian will be with you shortly.   

Ask a Librarian - Texting

Text your question to a librarian.

864.507.4718

Available 24/7 when Chat is Available

Ask a Librarian - Phone

Phone your question to a librarian.

864.503.5638

Check Today's Reference Hours

Ask a Librarian - In Person

Ask your question in person at the reference desk

Check Today's Reference Hours

Return to Library

Library Home / Resouces Button