Skip to main content

Pre-Veterinary Medicine: General Sources

This guide is for students pursuing a career as a veterinarian.

General Sources

General Information

Animals, Disease, and Human Society: Human-Animal Relations and the Rise of Veterinary Medicine- eBook 

 The Complete Home Veterinary Guide- eBook 

External Fixation in Small Animal Practice- eBook

A Handbook of Veterinary Parasitology: Domestic Animals of North America. SF810 .A3 G73

Valuing Animals: Veterinarians and Their Patients in Modern America- eBook 

Veterinary Medicine and Human Health. SF740 .S38 1984

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Specialized Sources

Career Resources

National Need and Priorities for Veterinarians in Biomedical Research- eBook

Specialized Sources

Anatomy and Physiology of Farm Animals. SF761 .F8 

Applied Animal Endocrinology- eBook

Dukes’ Physiology of Domestic Animals. SF768 .D77 1993

GIS and Spatial Analysis in Veterinary Science- eBook

Growth of Farm Animals- eBook

Medical and Veterinary Entomology- RA641 .A7 K48 1995

Weather and Animal Diseases. QC851 .W6445 no.268

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Articles

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Career Resources

VCAT Resources

VCAT Information

Veterinary Medical School Admission Requirements. S 533 .V48 2008 edition.

Veterinary School Admissions and top veterinary schools.

Veterinary Schools

American Association of Veterinary State Boards– “Serve veterinary regulatory boards in the interest of public protection.”

Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges- Career and admissions information, enrollment statistics, links to all U.S. and Canadian veterinary colleges.

Veterinary Technician Schools- Career and school information for veterinary technicians.

Scholarship information for vet tech schools.

 

Professional Associations

American Animal Hospital Association -- An organization of veterinarians, technicians and others who primarily treat companion animals. Web site includes news, publications, AAHA standards, links to state veterinary associations and other useful information. Many site resources are limited to members only.

American Association of Wildlife Veterinarians

American Association of Zoo Veterinarians

American Holistic Veterinary Medical Association- “Explores and supports alternative and complementary approaches to veterinary healthcare, and is dedicated to integrating all aspects of animal wellness in a socially and environmentally responsible manner.”

American Society of American Science- Leading source of new knowledge and perspectives in animal science.

American Veterinary Chiropractic Association- “Functions as a professional membership group, to promote animal chiropractic to professionals and the public, and to act as the certifying agency for doctors who have undergone animal chiropractic training. One of the major goals of the AVCA is to provide the public with unhampered access to ethical doctors trained in animal chiropractic.”

American Veterinary Medical Association -- News, features, veterinary resources. AVMA members have access to additional resources through NOAH, Network of Animal Health.

Association of Exotic Mammal Veterinarians- Represents the specialty of exotic mammal medicine.

Association of Shelter Veterinarians- “Work to advance the practice of shelter medicine and to act as a resource for the dissemination of information and the support of ongoing study of veterinary medicine in a shelter environment.”

South Carolina Association of Veterinarians- “The objectives of the Association shall be to advance the science and art of veterinary medicine by providing opportunities for professional education and development and by enhancing the relationships between veterinarians, agriculture, pet owners, government and the public at large; and to protect the public health by promoting proper involvement in human and animal health care by the veterinary profession.”

United States Animal Health Association- A science-based, non-profit organization with a mission to protect animal and public health. Its prime objective is to prevent, control, and eliminate livestock diseases. Site includes animal health news alters, press releases, and links to industry, state animal health offices, and other disease information sources.

World Small Animal Veterinary Association

World Veterinary Association- The WVA is the internationally recognized representative of global veterinary medicine.

Websites

Veterinary Websites

Animal & Veterinary: FDA- Provides news on food and drugs in regards to animal and veterinary practices.

AVMA Media Library- Podcasts, videos, and news is available.

Database of Approved Animal Drug Products- Search available for animal drugs.

Martindale's "Virtual" Veterinary Center -- A wide variety of Web resources such as dictionaries and glossaries, veterinary curriculum materials, tutorials, and databases.

USDA- APHIS- This subject area describes diseases facing animals today and the steps APHIS is taking to prevent, control, and eliminate those conditions.

Veterinarian Edu- This site has good information about how to become a veterinary technician in South Carolina.

Veterinary Anatomical Illustrations -- From the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. "The following illustrations are scanned images taken from the classic works of the German veterinary anatomists, Wilhelm Ellenberger and Hermann Baum, and medical illustrator, Hermann Dittrich. The texts, from which these illustrations were derived, are works published in 1898 and 1911 through 1925, all entitled Handbuch der Anatomie der Tiere für Künstler which can be translated as Handbook (or Atlas) of Animal Anatomy for Artists. The primary focus of these illustrations is on the integumentary and musculoskeletal systems of the horse, cow, dog, lion, goat and deer."

Veterinary Information Network (VIN)- Provides information for veterinarians, including continuing education information. Veterinary students can register for a free account.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Ask

Find out about the Renovations

Renovations in the Library are ever changing and rather fluid.  We will attempt to keep you updated on the upcoming changes as we learn about them.  Please follow us on the Library Renovations LibGuide and Social Media to learn more about the changes.

Library Renovations Header as button to libguide

Today's Hours & Calendar

Ask a Librarian - Chat

Librarians are available to help suggest sources and guide you through finding materials.  The ability to chat and text with librarians throughout the semester is available 24/7.  Please type your questions below and a Librarian will be with you shortly.   

Ask a Librarian - Texting

Text your question to a librarian.

864.507.4718

Available 24/7 when Chat is Available

Ask a Librarian - Phone

Phone your question to a librarian.

864.503.5638

Check Today's Reference Hours

Ask a Librarian - In Person

Ask your question in person at the reference desk

Check Today's Reference Hours

Return to Library

Library Home / Resouces Button