Skip to main content

Pre-Physician Assistant: General Reference Sources

This guide was created to help students that want to become physician assistants.

General Reference Sources

USC Information

USC Upstate Pre-Physician Assisting Program Information

Information about the Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies at the Medical University of South Carolina

Encyclopedias

American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia. REF RC81 .A2 A497 2003.

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior. REF R726.5 .E53 2004. Volumes 1-2 available.

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion. REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference.

Encyclopedia of the Human Body. REF QM7 .E53 2002.

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. REF R733 .G34 2009. Volumes 1-4 available.

Dictionaries

The American Heritage Stedman’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .A53 2002.

Black’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .B598 41st ed. 2006.

The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine. REF R121 .O884 2001. eBook 2001.

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations. REF R123 .J24 2001.

Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. 2007 edition available at the University Center at Greenville Reference. The 2003 edition available at USC Upstate. REF R121 .D73.

Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health. REF R121 .M65 2003.

Melloni’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference. REF R121 .D76 2002.

Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions. REF R 121 .M89 2009.

Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate (2009) and University Center at Greenville Reference (2005). REF R121 .T18

Taber’s Electronic Medical Dictionary. Available in CD-ROM at the University Center at Greenville Reference. REF R 121 .T18 2005 CD-ROM.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Specialized Reference Sources

History

The Cambridge Illustrated History of Medicine – R 131 .C232 2001

The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of DiseaseREF RC 41 .C365 2003.  Comprises a history and description of major diseases organized alphabetically.

Medicine in Quotations: Views of Health and Disease Through the Ages - REF R 705 .M465 2006

Career Resources

Career as a physician assistant- eBook

Opportunities in physician assistant careers- eBook

Specialized Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 3rd ed. – REF QH 332 .E52 2004 vols. 1-5. 

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition – REF QP 141 .E526 2005. 

Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases, 2nd ed. – REF RC 112 .T87 2003.

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion – REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003

Evidence Based Practice Manual:  Research and Outcome Measures in Health and Human Services – R 728 .E94 2004

Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues in Health & Society, 6th ed – REF RA 776.9 .T35 2004.

Drugs

Physicians' Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements - REF RM 671 .A1 P48 30th ed.: 2009

Physicians' Desk Reference - REF RS 75 .P5 2009

Health Statistics

Health Care State Rankings:  Health Care in the United States, 13th ed. – REF RA 407.3 .H423 2008.  

Health , United States – REF RA 407.3 .U57a 2005. 

Statistical Record of Health and Medicine – REF RA 407.3 .S78 1995.  Useful for historical statistics.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Articles

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Career Resources

Professional Associations

Online Resources

Clinical Trials.gov

explorehealthcareers.org- Provides students with a reliable, comprehensive source of accurate, up-to-date information about Physician Assistants.

Merck Manual online

Physicians' Assistant Occupational Outlook Handbook Information

PubMed National Library of Medicine

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Websites

Physician Assistant Websites

Advance for Physician Assistants- ADVANCE for Physician Assistants provides a forum for PAs to share clinical information and practice tips, along with professional, political and personal opinions. Our monthly features and columns are customized to fit the unique needs of PAs and cover the wide range of issues they encounter every day.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - Federal agency whose mission is to translate research findings into better patient care and provide health care leaders with information needed to make critical decisions.

Evidence based Practice Centers Reports - Evidence reports and technology assessments on clinical topics that are common, expensive, and/or are significant for the Medicare and Medicaid populations.

Family Medicine Journal - Official Journal of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. Full text available from 1998.

JAAPA: Office Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants - Articles from 1996 to present available free online.

National Guideline Clearinghouse - Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality in partnership with the AMA and the American Association of Health Plans.

Physician Assistant Competencies- The public demand for higher quality and greater accountability in health care has been growing steadily over the last several years. To address this issue within the PA profession, four of the major national PA organizations have joined together to define PA competencies, a critical starting point to identify opportunities for improvement in the development and assessment of those competencies. How these are incorporated into the practice, training, and continuing education and evaluation of PAs.

Physician Assistant History Center- “Dedicated to the study of the history and legacy of the physician assistant profession through the collection and identification of appropriate papers, manuscripts, magazine and newspaper clippings, newsletters, references, reports, dissertations, oral histories, biographies, films, slides, videos, photographs, artifacts, memorabilia and digital images.”

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Ask

Find out about the Renovations

Renovations in the Library are ever changing and rather fluid.  We will attempt to keep you updated on the upcoming changes as we learn about them.  Please follow us on the Library Renovations LibGuide and Social Media to learn more about the changes.

Library Renovations Header as button to libguide

Today's Hours & Calendar

Ask a Librarian - Chat

Librarians are available to help suggest sources and guide you through finding materials.  The ability to chat and text with librarians throughout the semester is available 24/7.  Please type your questions below and a Librarian will be with you shortly.   

Ask a Librarian - Texting

Text your question to a librarian.

864.507.4718

Available 24/7 when Chat is Available

Ask a Librarian - Phone

Phone your question to a librarian.

864.503.5638

Check Today's Reference Hours

Ask a Librarian - In Person

Ask your question in person at the reference desk

Check Today's Reference Hours

Return to Library

Library Home / Resouces Button