Skip to main content

Pre-Occupational Therapy: General Reference Sources

This guide is for students interested in pursuing a career in occupational therapy.

General Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia. REF RC81 .A2 A497 2003.

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior. REF R726.5 .E53 2004. Volumes 1-2 available.

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion. REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference.

Encyclopedia of the Human Body. REF QM7 .E53 2002.

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. REF R733 .G34 2009. Volumes 1-4 available.

Dictionaries

The American Heritage Stedman’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .A53 2002.

Black’s Medical Dictionary. REF R121 .B598 41st ed. 2006.

The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine. REF R121 .O884 2001. eBook 2001.

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations. REF R123 .J24 2001.

Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. 2007 edition available at the University Center at Greenville Reference. The 2003 edition available at USC Upstate. REF R121 .D73.

Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health. REF R121 .M65 2003.

Melloni’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate and University Center at Greenville Reference. REF R121 .D76 2002.

Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions. REF R 121 .M89 2009.

Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. Available at both USC Upstate (2009) and University Center at Greenville Reference (2005). REF R121 .T18

Taber’s Electronic Medical Dictionary. Available in CD-ROM at the University Center at Greenville Reference. REF R 121 .T18 2005 CD-ROM.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Specialized Reference Sources

Career Resources

Career as an Occupational Therapist- eBook

Careers in health care - 2005 - eBook.

The Yale guide to careers in medicine & the health professions : pathways to medicine in the twenty-first century - REF R690 .Y35 2003.

Health Statistics

Health Care State Rankings:  Health Care in the United States, 13th ed. – REF RA 407.3 .H423 2008.  

Health , United States – REF RA 407.3 .U57a 2005. 

Statistical Record of Health and Medicine – REF RA 407.3 .S78 1995.  Useful for historical statistics.

Specialized Reference Sources

The Adolescent with Developmental Co-ordination Disorder (DCD)- eBook

 

Developmental Coordination Disorder- RJ496 .M68 C46 2002

Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion – REF RA 427.8 .E53 2003

Evidence Based Practice Manual:  Research and Outcome Measures in Health and Human Services – R 728 .E94 2004

Facilitated Stretching- RA781.63 .M33 1993

Occupational Therapy: Performance, Participation, and Well-Being- eBook

Pediatric Therapy: A Systems Approach- RJ53 .O25 P67 1999

Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues in Health & Society, 6th ed – REF RA 776.9 .T35 2004.  

Therapeutic Exercise in Developmental Disabilities-  eBook

Statistics Websites

American Health Care Association: Health Services Research and Evaluation  - Includes OSCAR Data Reports, Assisted Living Survey, Staffing Studies, etc.

Disability Statistics - Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.

State Health Facts Online- Data on demographics, health, health policy, financing, health coverage, access and state legislation; data sources are indicated.

National Center for Health Statistics- Central location for Health surveys, publications and statistics from numerous agencies.

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Articles

Databases

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Career Resources

GRE Resources

GRE. REF LB 2367.4 .D85 2007.

Nova's GRE prep course. eBook- 2004.

Occupational Therapy Schools

The AOTA has a list of accredited Occupational Therapy programs by state.

Career Information

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Occupational Therapists- Occupational therapy career prospects including nature of the work, training needed, employment, and job outlook.

Professional Associations

American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation  - National organization representing physicians who specialize in physical medicine and rehabilitation. Resources on conditions and treatments, etc.

American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)- The national professional association for occupational therapists in the United States with career tips, conference notices, and other resources.

The American Occupational Therapy Foundation- "The American Occupational Therapy Foundation is a charitable, non-profit organization created in 1965 to advance the science of occupational therapy and increase public understanding of its value."
American Society of Hand Therapists
- "Advances the science of hand therapy through communication, education, advocacy, research and clinical standards."

Association for Driver Rehabilitation Specialists (ADED)- "Support professionals working on transportation equipment modifications for persons with disabilities through education and information dissemination."   

RESNA (Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America) - Organization that promotes research, education, and advocacy of technology in supporting people with disabilities.

State OT Associations Directory- Contains contact information for state occupational therapy associations and state occupational therapy licensure boards.
World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT) - Promotes occupational therapy internationally. Supports the development, use and practice of occupational therapy worldwide.
 

Librarian- Coordinator of Emerging Technologies

<!--24-->Laura Karas <br> <!--24-->Public Services Librarian's picture
Laura Karas
Public Services Librarian
Contact:
864-503-5637
lkaras@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 269


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Websites

General Websites

Center of Innovative OT Solutions- Provides continuing education for Occupational Therapists.

Dana BrainWeb - Lists of web resources on neurologic conditions from the Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives.
disABILITY Information and Resources  - A collection of internet links on a wide range of disability information, compiled by Jim Lubin, himself a C2 quadriplegic.

Hosford Muscle Tables  - An index with detailed information on the skeletal muscles of the body. Included is each muscle's origin, insertion, action, blood supply and innervations.

Martindale's Health Science Guide  - A mega-site with many tools: journals, dictionaries, case information. Gives provider guidelines, shows how to give exams, and gives lab diagnostics and protocols.

Mayo Clinic  - This site offers easy-to-understand health and medical information. In addition to diseases and conditions, the site has a number of healthy living guides and helpful resources such as Health Tools, Treatment Decision Guides and Ask a Specialist.

Occupational Therapist.Com  - Provides job openings, stories, blogs, links, etc.

OTPlan.com is a search engine for finding treatment plans and activity ideas in OT.

OT Direct  -Provides links to web resources, study notes, practice updates, and training listings.

Rehab World- Information on resources dealing with rehabilitation and Occupational Therapy.

Society for the Study of Occupation: USA- "The mission of SSO:USA is to facilitate high quality scholarship and a dynamic exchange of ideas that support the discipline of occupational science."

Spine-Health.Com- Features many articles on back and neck pain and treatments including physical therapy. All the articles are peer-reviewed.

Ask

Find out about the Renovations

Renovations in the Library are ever changing and rather fluid.  We will attempt to keep you updated on the upcoming changes as we learn about them.  Please follow us on the Library Renovations LibGuide and Social Media to learn more about the changes.

Library Renovations Header as button to libguide

Today's Hours & Calendar

Ask a Librarian - Chat

Librarians are available to help suggest sources and guide you through finding materials.  The ability to chat and text with librarians throughout the semester is available 24/7.  Please type your questions below and a Librarian will be with you shortly.   

Ask a Librarian - Texting

Text your question to a librarian.

864.507.4718

Available 24/7 when Chat is Available

Ask a Librarian - Phone

Phone your question to a librarian.

864.503.5638

Check Today's Reference Hours

Ask a Librarian - In Person

Ask your question in person at the reference desk

Check Today's Reference Hours

Return to Library

Library Home / Resouces Button