Skip to main content

BIOL U599 - Biology Senior Seminar - Webb: Home

This library guide will help support students in BIOL U599.

Biology 599 Molecular Biology Research Banner with Blue Border

Research Assignment
You will write a review paper based on a topic of your choice.  The topic must be in the field of molecular biology (unless you are presenting your own research).  Microbiology & Immunology topics are encouraged but not required.   If you have conducted your own undergraduate research you may present your research with the approval of your research advisor and me.
The review paper must include a minimum of 8 primary research articles.  Case studies, review articles, and books may only be used in addition to the 8 primary articles and must only play a small role in the paper.  Copies of all sources must be turned in with the final paper.  You will create a detailed outline of your paper that provides the subtopics.  This outline will then be used to write the paper.  Failure to turn in the outline on time will result with a 5 point deduction/day from your paper grade.
The first draft of your paper will be returned with a grade.  You will be given the opportunity to rewrite your review paper or accept the original grade assigned.  If you choose to rewrite the paper, your final paper grade will be the average of the first draft and the rewritten draft.

Primary Source Material: "Either created at the time of an event or period, or was later created by an actual participant or witness from that time." Samantha Sanders, uploaded to YouTube on Sep 22, 2010

Review the basics- Blue basket weave  background

Creating Search Terms and Phrases

Remember to search for the scientific name of plants and animals!

These search strategies work well in the library catalog and most databases. 

Boolean connectors- use AND, OR, NOT (sometimes AND NOT) to connect two or more search terms:

  • AND finds all records with all of your search terms and narrows your search
  • OR finds all records with one or more of your search terms and broadens your search
  • NOT or AND NOT is used to exclude the following term and can help to focus a search where one term has different meanings or uses (e.g., Mexico NOT "New Mexico")

Phrases in Quotes - most databases and web search engines allow you to search for exact phrases by placing them in quotes:

  • "carbon footprint"

Truncation - the library catalog and most databases use special characters to make searching easier in certain situations. Check the help screens in the catalog or database you are using to see what the special characters are for that resource.

  • the asterisk * is often used to stand for mutliple endings on a word (singular, plural, etc.): vot* finds vote, voter, voters
  • wildcards are similar, but replace another character in a word: wom?n in the library catalog finds both woman and women

Nesting - use parentheses to sort out the elements of a more complex Boolean search phrase, especially when you may want to search for more than one related term for one element of your phrase:

  • (carbon OR ecological) AND footprint
  • ("hip hop" OR rap) AND culture

Full Text finder

Full Text Finder helps you find just that: The Full Text of an article. 

Why The Need?

Our library subscribes to hundreds of databases from a variety of companies. These databases don't always link well with one another. If a particular database you are searching returns only the abstract (but not full text) of an article, it may seem the full text is not available. In reality, the full text might be found in another database we get from another company. Full Text Finder is a way to link you to the entire article when possible, even when a database may indicate it is not available. The product, then, is referred to as a link resolver. 

There are three primary ways to access the product: 

1. In the database you are using (if it shows up as an option)

2. From our FULL TEXT FINDER link on the library homepage

3. Through any links provided in your course LibGuides

Loading ...

How to Paraphrase

David Taylor, Senior Adviser, Effective Writing Center at the University of Maryland University College gave us permission to use this video.

Library Faculty

Virginia Cononie <br> <!--22-->Coordinator of Reference's picture
Virginia Cononie
Coordinator of Reference
Contact:
864-503-5735
vcononie@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 103


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620
8645035735